The Thomas Jefferson Foundation was incorporated in 1923 to preserve and operate Monticello, the plantation home and architectural masterpiece of Thomas Jefferson. Since its founding, the Foundation has dedicated itself to a two-fold mission of preservation and education.

The Thomas Jefferson Foundation receives no government funding for general operations. As a private, nonprofit organization, we rely on the generosity of donors like you to accomplish our dual mission of preservation and education.

Important Information

Legal name: Thomas Jefferson Foundation, Inc.

Tax Identification Number (EIN): 54-0505959.

Financial Statements: For the Years Ended December 31, 2020 and 2019


Leslie Greene Bowman

Board of Trustees

Melody Barnes, Richmond, Virginia, Chair
Tobias Dengel, Charlottesville, Virginia, Vice Chair
Molly Hardie, Charlottesville, Virginia, Secretary

L.D. Britt, Norfolk, Virginia
Peter J. Coolidge, New York, New York
Joseph Erdman, Charlottesville, Virginia
Annette Gordon-Reed, Cambridge, Massachusetts
Renée Grisham, North Garden, Virginia
David C. Landin, Richmond, Virginia
Suzi LeVine, Seattle, Washington
E. Charles Longley, Jr., Charlottesville, Virginia
Nancy Cain Marcus, Dallas, Texas
Jon Meacham, New York, New York
Sarah Perot, Dallas, Texas
Gilbert P. Schafer III, New York, New York
Christopher J. Toomey, Santa Barbara, California
William H. Walton, III, Jacksonville, Florida

Emeritus Trustees

John H. Birdsall, III, Charlottesville, Virginia
J. F. Bryan, IV, Jacksonville, Florida
Harlan Crow, Dallas, Texas
David R. Goode, Norfolk, Virginia
Donald A. King, Jr., Keswick, Virginia
Fritz R. Kundrun, Keswick, Virginia
Richard A. Mayo, Boston, Massachusetts
Charlotte Moss, New York, New York
Libby H. O’Connell, Lloyd Harbor, New York
Pamela Reynolds, Richmond, Virginia

Honorary Trustees
Brenton S. Halsey, Richmond, Virginia
David McCullough, West Tisbury, Massachusetts
Hunter J. Smith, Charlottesville, Virginia

President Emeritus

Daniel P. Jordan

The Thomas Jefferson Foundation does not provide legal or tax advice.  Please seek your own legal and tax counsel.  The Thomas Jefferson Foundation is prepared to work with donors, their attorneys, and financial planners. Disclosure Statement