2015 Distinguished Book Award from the Society for Military History for The Men Who Lost America

Winner, 2015 National Society Daughters of the American Revolution Excellence in American History Book Award

The NSDAR Excellence in American History Book Award recognizes distinguished historical literary works of non-fiction and/or biographies that have made an original contribution to the body of historical knowledge or added new information to previously familiar materials.

Winner, 2014 George Washington Book Prize

The George Washington Prize is one of the nation’s largest and most prestigious literary awards. A distinguished jury comprised of notable scholars Carol Berkin, Christopher L. Brown, and David Preston, selected the finalists from a field of over 60 books.

Barbara and David Zalaznick Book Prize in American History

Awarded for a non-fiction book on American history or biography that is distinguished by its scholarship, its literary style and its appeal to a general as well as an academic audience. Awarded by the New York Historical Society.

Winner, 2014 Fraunces Tavern Museum Book Award

Finalist, Gilder Lehrman Prize for Military History

The Gilder Lehrman Prize for Military History at the New-York Historical Society is a prize administered by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History and the New-York Historical Society. Each year the award recognizes the best book on military history in the English-speaking world distinguished by its scholarship, its contribution to the literature, and its appeal to both a general and an academic audience.

Winner, 2014 The Society of the Cincinnati History Prize

In 1980 the Society of the Cincinnati in the State of New Jersey launched a program of making an annual award to a person chosen for “distinguished achievement in advancing the knowledge, understanding, and appreciation of American History.” Preference is given to work on the history of the United States in its Colonial, Revolutionary and Federal periods; and to work done by persons associated with New Jersey institutions or agencies. The award is presented annually at the Society’s Annual Meeting Banquet held at Anderson House in Washington, DC.

Winner, 2014 American Revolution Round Table of Richmond Book Award

Finalist, 2014, The Cundill History Prize 

Winner, 2013 Great Midwest Book Festival Award in Regional Literature

Finalist, 2013 Guggenheim-Lehrman Prize in Military History