Justice Breyer
Lawyers Menaka Guruswamy and Arundhati Katju

In 2018, lawyers Menaka Guruswamy and Arundhati Katju won a landmark case before India’s Supreme Court that struck down a 157-year-old law that made gay sex illegal. The pair, who have become heroes of the LGBTQ community in their country, are currently spearheading a marriage equality case to be heard by the Supreme Court of India this spring. 

Guruswamy and Katju were named the 2023 recipients of the Thomas Jefferson Foundation Medal in Law.


Past Jefferson Medal in Law Recipients

On the anniversary of Thomas Jefferson’s birthday, April 13 (known locally as Founder’s Day), the University of Virginia and the Thomas Jefferson Foundation at Monticello join together to present the Thomas Jefferson Foundation Medals to recognize achievements of those who embrace endeavors in which Jefferson, the author of the Declaration of Independence and third U.S. president, excelled and held in high regard. These medals are the highest external honors bestowed by the University of Virginia, which grants no honorary degrees. For information on Founder’s Day, the Thomas Jefferson Foundation Medals and the 2023 recipients, click here.