Lucy Midelfort, Monticello’s Conservator and Curator of Historic Architecture, showcases the recent restoration of the Venetian Porches on the southern side of the house. Originally constructed in 1807, the porches, or porticles, were part of Jefferson's original design for Monticello II. The original porches fell into disrepair and were removed in the early 1900s but were recreated in the 1990s using Jefferson’s designs, existing photos, and findings from architectural investigations.
A collection of 28 superb measured drawings created by the Historic American buildings Survey and annotated by William L. Beiswanger, Monticello's former Director of Restoration. Available in our online shop.